Most sauna price guides quote a range and stop. I built the table underneath it. Every product I priced for this site now sits in one spreadsheet (115 rows from 22 pages), and this page reports what that spreadsheet says: price per seat, which voltage each type needs, and how many listings were on sale. The CSV is at the bottom if you want to run your own numbers.
One limit first. This is the set of products I researched, not a census of the market, and every price is what a page showed on the date in its row. Treat the medians as a description of my sample. Seat counts are the makers' own figures, which I did not check.
Price per seat, by sauna group
I divided each cabin's listed price by the top of the seat range its page states (my arithmetic). Where a page says "up to 6", I used 6. Heater-only, blanket, tent and steam products are excluded here and covered further down.
| Group | Products | Lowest | Median | Highest | With seat count | Median price per seat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Traditional electric · outdoor | 14 | $3,599 | $6,218 | $14,132 | 14 | $1,620 |
| Traditional electric · indoor | 12 | $3,496 | $5,230 | $25,766 | 10 | $2,164 |
| Infrared · outdoor | 10 | $3,790 | $6,994 | $14,499 | 9 | $2,145 |
| Infrared · indoor | 12 | $2,698 | $5,997 | $9,999 | 12 | $3,024 |
| Heater not stated · outdoor | 15 | $3,990 | $7,616 | $46,199 | 9 | $1,535 |
| Heater not stated · indoor | 3 | $2,728 | $4,990 | $6,740 | 2 | $1,809 |
Reading it: the outdoor traditional group and the outdoor kits that do not state a heater have the lowest median price per seat in the set, and indoor infrared cabins are the most expensive per seat at $3,024. Part of that gap is the seat count itself. In my set 16 of 22 infrared cabins with a stated seat count are two-person units, while the traditional saunas have a median top seat count of 3. Divide by a smaller number and the figure goes up. Part of it is also that outdoor kits often leave the heater out, which is what the "heater not stated" rows show.
Voltage: what the listings say
Among traditional electric saunas that state a voltage, 21 of 21 list 240V. Among infrared cabins that state one, 14 of 18 list 120V and 4 list 240V. In plain terms, in my sample the traditional route almost always means a dedicated 240V circuit and an electrician, while most infrared cabins plug into a standard outlet, often with a dedicated circuit recommended. 4 infrared and 5 traditional listings did not state a voltage, so the split is a floor and not a rule. The details per product are on the best infrared sauna and best electric sauna heater pages.
How often the price was a sale price
34 of the 66 cabins in the set showed a regular price above the current price. The discounts in those rows ran from 4% to 33%, with a median of 15% (my arithmetic: 1 minus sale price divided by regular price). Several of these were short sales, so I note the check date in every row. If you see a price here that no longer matches, the date is why.
The parts and the cheap end
- Heater-only listings (electric heaters, wood stoves and steam generators): 31 products from $769 to $5,308, median $1,695. See best electric sauna heater for sizing.
- Sauna blankets: 6 products from $420 to $700. See best sauna blanket.
- Portable steam tents: 9 products from $106 to $1,499. See best portable sauna.
Price history
The first snapshot of every price in the index is saved in price-history.csv, dated 2026-10-08. When I recheck prices, each new snapshot is appended, so the file becomes a record of how listings move. Today it has a single date, which means it shows no trend yet.
What this does not tell you
It does not tell you which sauna is better. Price per seat ignores wood species, heater quality, warranty and what the delivery costs. It also mixes retailers: the same product can show a different price at two sellers, and when my pages disagreed I recorded one value and put the other in the notes column. The disagreements themselves are listed in when spec sheets disagree.
Get the data
The full table is a plain CSV: home-sauna-products.csv. Columns include maker, product, type, setting, seats, price and currency, regular price, heater kW, voltage, amps, warranty, the page on this site where the product is discussed and the date the price was checked. Nothing in it is filled in from memory: a blank cell means the page did not state it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the average price of a home sauna?
There is no single average. In my sample the median ranges from $4,990 to $7,616 depending on the group, and the highest listing is $46,199. The sauna cost guide adds the install costs that the sticker price leaves out.
Is infrared cheaper than traditional?
Per seat, not in my sample: the median indoor infrared cabin costs more per listed seat than the median outdoor traditional sauna. In total price, a two-person infrared cabin can cost less than a four-person barrel, because it is a smaller product. Compare like for like with the infrared vs traditional sauna page.
How often do you update the index?
I recheck prices on a monthly cycle and change the date in the affected rows. The CSV on this page is the current copy.
Why are there few sauna blankets and tents in the price per seat table?
They have no seat count, so a per seat figure would mean nothing. They get their own line above.