If you want the best electric sauna heater for a room you already have, the choice mostly comes down to two numbers: how many cubic feet the room is, and what your electrical panel can feed. I opened product pages for nine heaters this week and pulled out kW, the room volume each maker or seller lists, amps, breaker sizes, stones, controls and warranty. Where a page said nothing, I wrote "not shown." Prices are a snapshot and sale prices move.
The angle: size the heater to the room, then check the circuit
Ahrefs (US) puts "electric sauna heater" at about 1,400 searches a month, "electric sauna stove" at 300 and "best electric sauna heater" at 200. "Sauna heater 240v" and "sauna heater for home" are tiny at 10 and 40. The broad term "sauna heater" sits near 7,500. Ahrefs rates all of these as easy to rank for, which tells you more about how thin the results are than about how good they are.
The results I saw on "electric sauna heater" were a shopping carousel (a lot of low-cost 220V units plus HUUM and Harvia), a few "people also ask" boxes, an AI overview, then store collection pages from My Sauna World, Almost Heaven, Sun Valley Saunas and The Sauna Heater, and a Reddit thread. A collection page gives you a grid and a "from" price. It rarely puts the room volume, the amps and the breaker in the same place.
So the angle here is a sizing table built only from the pages I opened, with the places where those pages disagree left visible. I also compare how three sources say to calculate room volume, because they don't agree. If you're still choosing the sauna itself, my best 1-2 person sauna and best barrel sauna pages cover that, and the sauna hub lists the rest.
Quick picks: nine electric heaters side by side
Everything below is what a page showed. "Volume" is the room range the seller or maker lists for that size, not a measurement of your room. I'm not an electrician or an engineer.
| Heater | Price shown | kW | Volume listed | Voltage and amps shown | Stones | Controls | Warranty shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harvia KIP | $1,214 (Almost Heaven), $2,014 sale (Sun Valley) | 3 to 8 | 100–425 cu ft (4.5 to 8 kW) | 240V, 12.5 to 33.3 A | Not included at AH, +$60 at Sun Valley | Dials, or optional Xenio CX170 | 1 year elements (AH), 10 years (Sun Valley) |
| Harvia Cilindro | $1,722 | 6, 8, 9 | Not shown | Breakers 30, 40, 45 A | Included | Dials | 1 year elements, 5 years other parts |
| Almost Heaven Wall Heater | $1,607 | 6 or 8 | "small and medium" only | Breakers 30 or 40 A | Included | Dials | Limited lifetime |
| Finlandia FIN-60 | $1,099.99 | 6 | Up to 300 cu ft | 240V, 25 A, 10 AWG | 50 lbs included | Separate panel needed | 10 years |
| Harvia Vega 1700 | $859.99 | 1.7 | 70–106 cu ft | 120V, 14.2 A | 29 lbs minimum, not stated as included | Built in | 10 years plus 2 years maker |
| HUUM Drop | From $2,918 bundle | 4.5 to 9 | 110–530 cu ft | 240V, 18.8 to 37.5 A | 132 lbs included | UKU Wi-Fi included | 10 years (seller), 3 years (HUUM) |
| HUUM Steel 9 kW | $4,086 (was $4,999) | 9 | 283–460 cu ft at 240V | 240V, 37.5 A, 50 A breaker, 8 AWG | About 330 lbs, listed | UKU, Wi-Fi or local | 3 years private use |
| Saunum Air 5 | $4,465 (was $5,599.99) | 4.8 | Up to 212 cu ft | 240V, 20 A | 165 lbs included | Wi-Fi unit and touch panel | 10 years |
| Amerec Designer SL2 4.5 kW | $1,105 | 4.5 | Up to 210 cu ft | 240V single phase, amps not shown | Not shown | SaunaLogic2 sold separately | Limited lifetime |
The prices come from different retailers and aren't directly comparable. The KIP row is the clearest warning: the two pages show $1,214 and $2,014 for what they both call a KIP, and the variant, bundle and stone options behind each number aren't spelled out. I can't tell you which one matches your configuration.
How I picked and what I can't claim
I haven't wired, heated or sat next to any of these. Everything is "the page lists" or "the maker says." I included a heater only if I opened a page showing a price and at least a kW rating plus a room range or an electrical figure.
I left out the following:
- Almost Heaven's Spirit, Virta, Virta Combi and Club kits, because the collection page gave only names and "from" prices ($3,291 to $4,865).
- HUUM Hive, Cliff and Core, which a collection page named without specs.
- The Amerec Pro-14.4 at $2,544 and 14.4 kW. The page gives two room volumes (950 and 740 cu ft) and no amps. I'd rather skip it than choose one.
- The low-cost 220V units that crowd the shopping results (VEVOR, SKYSHALO, GIVIMO and similar). I saw their titles in the SERP data and never opened a page for any of them.
- Tylo, Mr Steam and SaunaLife heaters, which I did not open.
Here is what I could not verify across the group: any real heat-up time, running cost per session (no page gave a kWh figure for a sauna session), noise, or how any of these behave after a few years. I also can't say which heaters are certified for your state, and I haven't seen your local code.
Sizing a heater: kW against cubic feet
Multiply width by depth by height in feet to get cubic feet. The Topture guide uses that formula and adds about 50 cu ft for every 10 square feet of glass or stone. HUUM's sizing page uses a different method. It adds the area of uninsulated surfaces (glass, log walls) to the room volume with a factor of 1, and then says one calculated cubic meter is matched by one kilowatt.
The two methods give different answers, and that matters. HUUM's page works in metric, so here's my arithmetic. One square foot of glass becomes about 3.28 cubic feet (1 m² adds 1 m³, and 1 m is 3.28 ft), so 10 sq ft adds about 33 cu ft, against Topture's 50. On the kW side, Topture's example says a 245 cu ft sauna needs about 4.9 kW, which is 50 cu ft per kW. HUUM's 1 kW per cubic meter works out to about 35 cu ft per kW (1 m³ is 35.3 cu ft), so the same room would be near 7 kW (my arithmetic: 245 ÷ 35.3). These are rules of thumb from sellers and a maker, not engineering calculations, and the HUUM Drop 6 kW listing of 180–350 cu ft sits across both.
HUUM also warns that "more power doesn't always mean better steam" and that bare glass or log walls can account for a large share of the required capacity in its example. The Steel page adds 3.3 cu ft per square foot of uninsulated brick, tile or glass wall, which is another factor again. Three sources, three glass allowances. Pick the generous one if you have a glass door and a cold garage, and check what the heater's own manual says.
The sizing table I built from the pages
| Heater and size | kW | Volume listed (cu ft) |
|---|---|---|
| Harvia Vega 1700 | 1.7 | 70–106 |
| Amerec Junior | 3 | 70–150 |
| Harvia KIP | 3 | Up to 130 |
| Harvia KIP | 4.5 | 100–210 |
| HUUM Drop | 4.5 | 110–240 |
| Amerec Designer SL2 | 4.5 | Up to 210 |
| Saunum Air 5 | 4.8 | Up to 212 |
| Harvia KIP | 6 | 170–300 |
| Finlandia FIN-60 | 6 | Up to 300 |
| HUUM Drop | 6 | 180–350 |
| HUUM Drop | 7.5 | 247–441 |
| Harvia KIP | 8 | 250–425 |
| HUUM Drop | 9 | 290–530 |
| HUUM Steel (240V) | 9 | 283–460 |
Read it as ranges and not as a single number per kW. A 6 kW heater is listed at 300 to 350 cu ft at the top end depending on the brand, and at 170 or 180 at the bottom. That's the maker's window, and the closer you sit to the top of it, the more the heater has to work. I can't quantify that, since no page gave heat-up times.
Two conflicts inside the table. Topture's guide quotes the Drop 6 kW at 177–318 cu ft, while the Sun Valley page lists 180–350. And the Steel page gives 212–354 cu ft for the same 9 kW on a 208V supply, against 283–460 on 240V. The voltage you actually have changes the room the heater is rated for.
240V or 120V: what the pages say
Most of the heaters above are 240V. The Haven of Heat guide says 120V suits small infrared saunas and tiny plug-in heaters under 88 cu ft, and that a standard 120V 15 A circuit delivers a maximum of 1,800 watts. The only 120V heater I opened is the Vega 1700, a 1.7 kW unit listed at 14.2 A for 70–106 cu ft. That's one tiny room. My arithmetic: 1,700 ÷ 120 is 14.2 A, which is close to the limit of a 15 A circuit, so a 120V heater won't leave much room on the circuit for anything else, and the guide says a sauna heater needs its own dedicated circuit.
For anything bigger, you're on 240V. The Topture guide describes it as a dedicated 240V circuit run from your main panel, similar to an electric stove or hot tub, and it calls the job one for a licensed electrician. The Haven guide agrees that wiring for 240V should be done by a professional. I'd read that as the end of the DIY question.
Circuits and breakers: where the pages disagree
Here are the electrical figures as each page states them.
| Heater | kW | Current shown | Breaker or wire shown |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harvia KIP | 4.5 | 18.8 A | 30 A double-pole (Almost Heaven) |
| Harvia KIP | 6 | 25 A | 30 A double-pole (Almost Heaven) |
| Harvia KIP | 8 | 33.3 A | 40 A double-pole (Almost Heaven) |
| Harvia Cilindro | 9 | Not shown | 45 A double-pole |
| Finlandia FIN-60 | 6 | 25 A | 10 AWG wire |
| HUUM Drop | 9 | 37.5 A | Breaker not specified |
| HUUM Steel | 9 | 37.5 A at 240V | 50 A breaker, 8 AWG |
| Saunum Air 5 | 4.8 | 20 A | Wire spec (2) #10 + N + G |
The Haven guide says the National Electrical Code sizes the circuit at 125% of rated amperage, and its chart gives a 40 A breaker for 6 kW and a 50 A breaker for 8 kW. Almost Heaven's pages show 30 A for 6 kW and 40 A for 8 kW. My arithmetic: 6,000 ÷ 240 is 25 A, times 1.25 is 31.25 A. That is above 30 A, and Almost Heaven's pages say 30 A. The 8 kW case is similar: 33.3 × 1.25 is 41.6 A against the 40 A shown. The HUUM Steel page shows 37.5 A and a 50 A breaker, which is in line with the 125% rule (37.5 × 1.25 is 46.9 A). I'm not saying any page is wrong. The sellers may be using the manufacturer's installation manual, and a local inspector may require something else.
The Haven guide also notes that manufacturer instructions often say a GFCI "should not be installed on the heater circuit" because it can cause nuisance tripping, and that local authority makes the final call when code and manufacturer guidance conflict. That's a conversation for your electrician and your building department. Hire a licensed one, give them the manual for the exact heater, and let them tell you what your panel can carry. If the panel has no spare capacity for a 37.5 A load, that's a cost I couldn't source, and it could outweigh the price of the heater.
Control types
Three kinds show up on the pages. The Topture guide lists built-in controls (dials on the heater), wall-mounted digital panels and Wi-Fi controls with phone-app preheating.
- Dials: the KIP, Cilindro and Wall Heater pages list built-in dial controls. The KIP dial version lists a delay timer up to 8 hours and an automatic shutoff after 60 minutes.
- Separate panels: the FIN-60 page says it works with a Harvia Xenio CX170 or a Finlandia F1T external panel. The Amerec SL2 needs a SaunaLogic2 control and a contactor box. The Amerec Pro-14.4 page lists controls "ordered separately". Add that to your budget.
- Wi-Fi: the HUUM Drop bundle includes a UKU Wi-Fi controller. The Steel page lists UKU controls, both local and Wi-Fi, with a temperature range from 104°F to 230°F. The Saunum includes a Wi-Fi unit and a touch panel. On the KIP, the Sun Valley page lists a Xenio CX170 Wi-Fi panel as a $1,000 option.
So the price on a collection card isn't always the price of a working setup. The FIN-60 at $1,099.99 and the Amerec SL2 at $1,105 both need a control purchased on top. I couldn't find a price for those controls on the pages I opened.
Stones
Stones change the real cost and the weight on your floor. The Cilindro and Wall Heater pages say stones are included. The KIP dial version at Almost Heaven says stones are not included, and Sun Valley lists them as a $60 add-on. The Drop bundle includes 132 lbs of olivine diabase stones, the FIN-60 includes 50 lbs and the Saunum bundle includes 165 lbs across five boxes. The Steel page lists about 330 lbs of stones, 10 boxes of 33 lbs. That's roughly ten times the weight of the 33 lb heater itself, so ask about floor loading if you're putting this in an upper-floor room.
The Topture guide says never to use landscaping rocks, which "can crack or even explode when heated," and suggests replacing the full set every 3 to 5 years in a typical home sauna. I haven't seen the maker's own guidance on replacement, so treat that as a seller's view.
The heaters, one at a time
Harvia KIP
The KIP is the heater Almost Heaven describes as the one included in most of its sauna kits, sized to the sauna. The Almost Heaven page lists 4.5, 6 and 8 kW versions, built-in dials, 30 A and 40 A double-pole breakers, and no stones. Sun Valley's page lists six variants, from 3 kW to 8 kW, including 208V three-phase versions at 6 and 8 kW, each with the same 16" by 11" by 24" size and 40 lbs weight. That's useful for a home or a light commercial space with three-phase power, and it's a detail few pages mention.
The warranty conflict is real. Almost Heaven's page shows 1 year on heating elements and a limited lifetime warranty that applies to its sauna units. Sun Valley's says ten years. Ask who carries the claim.
Harvia Cilindro
The Cilindro is a freestanding pillar. Almost Heaven lists it at $1,722 in 6, 8 and 9 kW, with 30, 40 and 45 A breakers, included stones and dial controls. It gives 1 year on elements and 5 years on other components. It shows no room volume, so I can't place it on the sizing table. If you like the shape, get the volume range from the maker before you pay.
Almost Heaven Wall Heater
At $1,607 it's a 6 or 8 kW wall-mounted unit in stainless or black steel, with included stones, dial controls and dual-wall construction. The page says it's designed for small and medium-sized saunas and shows no cubic feet figure. The page also showed only 4 left in stock at the time I opened it. Another heater I'd compare against the KIP, since both list the same breaker sizes.
Finlandia FIN-60
The cheapest 6 kW option I found. The page lists $1,099.99 (regular $1,149.99), 240V and 25 A, 10 AWG wire, up to 300 cu ft, 40 lbs (90 lbs with stones), 50 lbs of stones included, a triple-wall stainless build, and a 10-year warranty. You need a Harvia Xenio CX170 or Finlandia F1T control. Sun Valley also lists a 3 kW FIN-30 at $869.99 and a 4.5 kW FIN-45 at $949.99, though I didn't open those pages.
Harvia Vega 1700
This is the only 120V option I opened: $859.99, 1.7 kW, 14.2 A, 70–106 cu ft, wall mounted, with built-in controls, at least 29 lbs of stones required and a ten-year warranty plus 2 years from the maker. The page doesn't say whether stones come in the box. It's for a very small cabinet or closet-style room, and I'd read the amps again before assuming a regular outlet will do.
HUUM Drop
The page lists the Drop bundle at $2,918 with 4.5, 6, 7.5 and 9 kW options, 240V, 110 to 530 cu ft across the line, 21 to 25 lbs for the heater, 132 lbs of stones, a UKU Wi-Fi controller and 15.75" by 13.25" by 23.25" dimensions. The page's warranty is a 10-year comprehensive one from Sun Valley and a 3-year limited residential warranty from HUUM. It doesn't list a breaker size. That's the heater I'd shortlist if you want a controller in the box. I can't tell from the page which kW the $2,918 is for.
HUUM Steel 9 kW
The Steel is the most expensive pure heater here at $4,086, down from $4,999. It's tall and narrow (38.4" high, 12.6" square), weighs 33 lbs, needs 86.6" of room height and at least 47.3" from the top of the heater to the ceiling. Side clearance is 3.94". The warranty is 3 years for private use and the page says heating elements, stones, sensors and accessories are excluded. A 50 A breaker is a real ask for many panels.
Check price at ToptureAffiliate link
Saunum Air 5
Different design: a 4.8 kW unit at $4,465 (was $5,599.99), up to 212 cu ft, 240V and 20 A, 106 lbs without stones, a telescopic air intake and a 3-speed heat equalizer the page calls "Air Mixing Technology," UL certification, and a 10-year warranty. It's the lowest-amp option on the table after the Vega, and the dearest per kW. The page doesn't tell you what the mixing feature does for the room, so I won't either.
Check price at ToptureAffiliate link
Amerec Designer SL2 4.5 kW
At $1,105 it's 4.5 kW, up to 210 cu ft, 240V single phase, with a limited lifetime warranty, and it needs a SaunaLogic2 control and a contactor box. Amps, weight and dimensions weren't shown. The smaller Junior 3 kW is $1,740 on Topture, listed for 70–150 cu ft with 25 lbs of stones included. That's a higher price for a smaller heater, though the stones are included, which the SL2 page doesn't say.
Electric sauna heater cost: what the line items look like
| Item | Amount shown |
|---|---|
| Heater only, entry (Vega 1700, 120V) | $859.99 |
| Heater with stones, 6 kW (FIN-60) | $1,099.99 |
| KIP, 4.5 to 8 kW | $1,214 to $2,014 |
| Heater and Wi-Fi controller (HUUM Drop bundle) | From $2,918 |
| Optional Wi-Fi panel (Xenio CX170 on KIP) | $1,000 |
| Premium (HUUM Steel 9 kW, Saunum Air 5) | $4,086 to $4,465 |
| Electrician, panel work, permit | Not shown in the pages I opened |
The last row is the gap. For the rest of the build, my sauna cost guide has the line items I could source, and my best wood burning sauna page covers the case where a 240V circuit isn't available.
Frequently asked questions
What size electric sauna heater do I need?
Calculate width by depth by height in feet, add an allowance for glass or stone, and pick a heater whose listed range contains the result. The Harvia KIP lists 170–300 cu ft at 6 kW and 250–425 at 8 kW. Sellers disagree on glass allowances, so check the maker's manual.
Do I need 240V for an electric sauna heater?
For most heaters at 3 kW and above, yes, according to the Haven guide. The one 120V heater I opened is the 1.7 kW Vega 1700 for 70–106 cu ft. Wiring should be done by a licensed electrician.
How much does an electric sauna heater cost?
On the pages I opened, heaters ran from $859.99 for the Vega 1700 and $1,099.99 for the FIN-60 up to $4,086 for the HUUM Steel 9 kW and $4,465 for the Saunum Air 5. Controls, stones and electrical work may sit on top.
What breaker does a sauna heater need?
It varies by heater and by who's telling you. Almost Heaven lists 30 A for 6 kW and 40 A for 8 kW, the Haven guide lists 40 A and 50 A, and the HUUM Steel page lists 50 A for 9 kW. Ask an electrician to size it from the manual.
Is an electric sauna heater better than a wood stove?
I can't give you a verdict from specs. Electric units need a circuit and sometimes a separate control, while a wood stove needs a chimney. If heart conditions, blood pressure problems or pregnancy are in the picture, ask a doctor before using any sauna. My sauna temperature guide covers the temperatures people aim for.
What I would do
For a typical 4 to 6 foot insulated room, I'd start with a 6 kW heater from the KIP, FIN-60 or Drop families, because 6 kW sits inside the listed range for all three at roughly 180–300 cu ft. If I wanted the phone app in the box, I'd price the HUUM Drop bundle against a KIP plus the $1,000 Xenio panel. My arithmetic: $1,214 plus $1,000 is $2,214, and $2,014 plus $1,000 is $3,014, against $2,918 for the Drop bundle, so the answer flips depending on which KIP price is real and which Drop size the $2,918 covers.
Before buying any electric sauna heater, I'd measure the room, add a glass allowance, and then have a licensed electrician look at the panel and quote the circuit. That quote decides whether the best electric sauna heater for you is a 4.5 kW unit, a 9 kW unit or the 120V Vega.