Cold plunge pages tend to quote one tub and one chiller. I put every product I priced for this site into one table (60 rows, 9 pages) and worked out what the whole set says: price per gallon by type, what chillers cost by size, and which voltage the listings state. The CSV is at the bottom.
The limit: this is the sample I researched, not the whole market, and the prices are what each page showed on the date in its row. Capacity is the figure the page states. Canadian dollar listings (Canuck Cold) are kept in their own table and never converted, because I have no sourced exchange rate.
Price per gallon, by type (USD listings)
I divided each listed price by the stated capacity in gallons (my arithmetic). Where a page gave litres, I converted at 1 L = 0.264172 gal and rounded.
| Group | Products | Lowest | Median | Highest | With capacity | Median USD per gallon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All-in-one tub with chiller | 8 | $5,990 | $8,247 | $11,399 | 7 | $76 |
| Tub and chiller bundle | 5 | $3,499 | $5,590 | $7,499 | 2 | $34 |
| Barrel | 9 | $500 | $2,899 | $5,750 | 4 | $17 |
| Inflatable | 8 | $120 | $524 | $5,490 | 6 | $3 |
| Tub only (no chiller) | 5 | $100 | $2,700 | $4,735 | 3 | $21 |
| Chiller only | 11 | $500 | $1,999 | $4,000 | 0 | n/a |
| Stock tank | 1 | $98 | $98 | $98 | 1 | $1 |
The spread is the story. All-in-one tubs with a built-in chiller sit around $76 per gallon at the median, while inflatables and barrels cost a small fraction of that per gallon because they leave the chiller out. That is not a verdict on value: a per gallon figure for a tub without a chiller compares a bucket to a bucket plus a refrigeration system. The fair comparison is the bundle row, and then the price of adding a chiller to a tub, which is the next section. For the full line-item view see cold plunge cost and cold plunge with chiller.
Canadian dollar listings
Canuck Cold prices in CAD, so these rows are separate:
| Group | Products | Lowest | Median | Highest | With capacity | Median CAD per gallon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All-in-one tub with chiller | 2 | $7,499 | $7,599 | $7,699 | 2 | $74 |
| Tub and chiller bundle | 4 | $3,249 | $5,749 | $6,499 | 4 | $49 |
| Inflatable | 1 | $899 | $899 | $899 | 1 | $8 |
| Tub only (no chiller) | 3 | $3,499 | $3,499 | $4,299 | 3 | $33 |
| Chiller only | 3 | $2,849 | $2,899 | $3,599 | 0 | n/a |
Do not compare these medians with the USD table. The seller's catalog and its conflicts are in my Canuck Cold review.
What a chiller costs, by horsepower (USD, chiller-only listings)
| Chiller size | Products | Price range |
|---|---|---|
| 0.25 HP | 1 | $500 to $500 |
| 0.333 HP | 1 | $1,199 to $1,199 |
| 0.5 HP | 4 | $1,100 to $4,000 |
| 0.6 HP | 1 | $1,999 to $1,999 |
| 0.8 HP | 2 | $2,499 to $3,499 |
| 1 HP | 1 | $3,699 to $3,699 |
Only chillers whose page states a horsepower figure are included. Horsepower is the compressor rating the seller states. Cooling capacity in watts or BTU is a different number and is not shown on every page, which is part of why I wrote best cold plunge chiller the way I did. Every chiller row in the CSV has the page and date it came from.
Voltage and electrical load
21 of the 21 products that state a voltage list 120V; none of them list 240V. 39 listings did not state a voltage, which is most of them, so treat the 120V count as what the pages bothered to say. Amps are stated on fewer pages still. That gap is why I flag the electrical lines on every roundup. See cold plunge electricity cost for how to turn watts into a monthly bill.
Warranty
Among all-in-one tubs and bundles, 6 list a one-year warranty and 3 list five years; the rest state a different term or none. Warranty length is not a measure of quality, but it is the one term nobody else puts in a table next to the price, so it is a column in the CSV.
Price history
The first snapshot of every price in the index is saved in price-history.csv, dated 2026-10-08. When I recheck prices, each new snapshot is appended, so the file becomes a record of how listings move. Today it has a single date, which means it shows no trend yet.
What this does not tell you
Price per gallon says nothing about insulation, filtration, temperature range or noise. It also mixes sellers, and when two of my pages disagreed on a price I recorded one and put the other in the notes column. The disagreements themselves are listed in when spec sheets disagree.
Get the data
The full table is a plain CSV: cold-plunge-products.csv. A blank cell means the page did not state it. Nothing is filled in from memory.
Frequently asked questions
What is the average cost of a cold plunge?
There is no honest single number. In my sample the median all-in-one tub costs $8,247, the median tub and chiller bundle $5,590, and the median inflatable $524. Which one applies depends on whether you want a chiller.
Why is a cold plunge cheaper per gallon without a chiller?
Because the chiller is the expensive part. A chiller-only listing in my set runs from $500 to $4,000.
How often do you update the index?
I recheck prices on a monthly cycle and update the date in each affected row. The CSV on this page is the current copy.
Are the Canadian prices comparable?
No. I keep them in a separate table and do not convert them.